Visa Pour L’Image Perpignan 2011

From August 27 to September 11 it takes place in the city of Perpignan one of the most important (if not the most important) photojournalism festivals in the world: the Visa Pour L’Image. I discovered this festival by accident in 2008 and since then me and my girlfriend go there every single year.

It is the best day of the year. Seriously. If you are interested in real photography, real photographers and real stories, you have to see at least once in your life this photojournalism festival. It leaves you speechless, breathless.

All the images used in this post are (C) Copyright of Calvin Dexter, that is, me. They are all from the Visa Pour L’image of 2010.

My girlfriend decided to bring an old film Yashica Diary camera to the festival to take some shots. I went digital and took the Panasonic LX-3.

First time I was there I couldn’t believe the pictures I saw. I was shocked and it was back then that I knew I really wanted to take pictures for the rest of my life. Actually, I had bought my first DSLR just a few months before attending the festival in 2008… and I was so ashamed of the pictures I had taken until then when I saw what the real photographers do in real life. That day I promised myself that someday I would take some real and important pictures. That my pictures would serve for something good. I haven’t achieved that goal yet, but I know I will someday. No matter how long it takes.

I don’t know what exhibitions are held this year on the festival because I like to attend it without know anything at all. I like to go there every year like it was the first year and let the images shock me again and again. I will soon know though, we are going to Perpignan today. Just like I said, best day of the year.

So, if you like photography, any kind of photography, and you live near Perpignan (south of France) like I do. If you are that lucky, then for God’s sake do NOT miss the Visa Pour L’Image photojournalism festival.

Yes, that fat bastard would have to be me.

All the images on this post were taken with my beloved Panasonic LX-3 that, in fact, was not all that beloved because I sold it to my dad a few months ago. I wanted the money to buy the new Fuji X100 but that hasn’t happened yet.

At the time of writing this post (Sunday night) I still don’t know what camera will we use this year at the festival, but we will probably go with some film devices and take a digital just in case.

For more information on the festival you can check their official website on the following link:

Visa Pour L’Image Perpignan 2011

Leave a Reply

