Digital gone analog

I love digital photography. It is essential in my work. But I love analog photography too. For months, I’ve been looking for tutorials and photoshop plug-ins that would allow me to turn a digital image into a convincing analog picture.

I know there are plenty of Photoshop actions (both free and paid) that turn modern images into retro/vintage pics. And they do and incredible job. Products like the ones from Nik Software and onOne Software do a stunning work and let you edit your pictures in a myriad of ways. I know. But I still haven’t found that one simple action or plug-in that will turn my images into really, really convincing fake analog pictures.

So I decided I would create my own actions so I could go back in time. And I’m almost there. I have been working on a couple of actions for weeks, maybe even months. And I almost got it. Once I do have that action, oh boy, that will be a great day. And I will probably post that action here so anybody can download it and use it. Still not sure about this, I can’t promise anything.

In the meantime, I will show you an original image (no processing at all) straight from my Canon EOS 5D Mark II (I just converted the RAW file to JPEG using Adobe Camera Raw) and then, you can see the same image after applying more than 30 layers of works and countless hours. How am I going to turn that into a working action? I still have no clue, but I will not stop until I get it.

¿Is it convincing or does it still look like a crappy digital shot?

Original Image 

After some hard work…

All images on this post are copyright of Calvin Dexter. Do not use them without asking first.

Leave a Reply

