Blending 3D objects with real pictures

A few weeks ago I decided that Saturdays would be the day to learn something new. I don’t have much free time during the week, but I try to have a couple or more hours on Saturdays available to learn from others and follow some tutorials that I find on the Internet.

Today I learned how to integrate a 3D render of a cute and small robot into a macro photography using Photoshop. It was a lot of fun. The tutorial teaches you how to blend the two main pieces together using displacement filters, layer masks, custom brushes and lots, lots, lots of layers.

When I finished with the tutorial (about 2-3 hours of work) I couldn’t stop tweaking the image so I added some film, grain and color leaks that I think give even a more realistic and great look to the image.

Here’s the picture I got today. Hope you like it.

The tutorial I followed is from the PSDTuts site. If you want to take a look at it, here’s the link. You will find this tutorial and lots others along with great articles and all kinds of cool tips about Photoshop. Great place to learn.

2 comments
  1. rbteam said:

    This is amazing! I like it as it is 🙂 Please post more of these pictures.

    • hey RBteam,

      Glad you like the image. I’m just learning and following tutorials on how to do this stuff, but it’s lots of fun so I will keep creating images like this. Check the links on the post if you want to try it yourself or see more similar stuff. There are some great tutorials over at the PSDTuts site.

Leave a Reply

